With three weeks to go until the big night, we can today reveal our finalists in The National Environmental Awards 2022.

After the success of last year’s inaugural awards, next month’s event at Rougemont School in Newport promises to be bigger and better.

And following plenty of deliberation by the judging panel, we have our contenders for the 13 prizes on offer confirmed.

There are several familiar faces among the runners and riders, including some who tasted success in 2021, but also plenty of new guests to the party.

Among the finalists for the awards, co-headline sponsored by Western Power Distribution and GPT Environmental, are hardworking individuals, community groups, schools, councils and companies.

The National Wales:

Richard Lloyd Evans and his Project Nestbox venture, which aims to boost bird, bat, hedgehog and dormice numbers, are up for the environmental leader and environmental community group gongs.

Sero Zero Waste, an environmentally friendly shop in Newport run by Laura Parry and Liz Carnevale, triumphed at last year’s award – and they are in the running again.

They will be looking to defend their environmental entrepreneur crown, where they go up against Gabriella Diana of fashion brand Onesta and Tom Short of waste service provider Waste Fetch.

And the duo are also up for the retailer of the year accolade, again alongside Onesta, and the outstanding organisation award.

NappiCycle, involved in a scheme which saw nappies used to lay a new road surface, have two prizes in their sights, namely the sustainability through innovation and best product of the year awards.

Coleg y Cymoedd, Penyrheol Comprehensive School and South Point Primary School are the three educational establishments in the mix for awards.

Torfaen CBC, Newport City Council and Merthyr Tydfil CBC are the trio of local authorities batting it out, while Brecon View Eco Village and Bryn Elltyd Eco Guest House go head-to-head in the sustainability through tourism and leisure category.

The National Wales:

The full list of finalists for The National Environmental Awards on Thursday, July 14...

Environmental Leader Award (sponsored by Western Power Distribution and GPT Environmental): Richard Lloyd Evans (Project Nestbox), Angela Moreton (Equal=ibrium), Keith Jones.

Environmental Community Group Award (sponsored by Monmouthshire Building Society): Llangattock Litter Pickers, Project Nestbox.

Sustainability Through Innovation Award (sponsored by Knauf Insulation): Barefoot Tech, Coleg y Cymoedd, NappiCycle.

Carbon Zero Efficient Building Award (sponsored by Corgi Cymru): Grange Pavilion, South Point Primary School.

Environmental Entrepreneur Award (sponsored by Coleg Gwent): Gabriella Diana (Onesta), Laura Parry and Liz Carnevale (Sero Zero Waste), Tom Short (Waste Fetch).

Sustainability Through Tourism & Leisure Award (sponsored by Bluestone): Brecon View Eco Village, Bryn Elltyd Eco Guest House.

Education/School or College Award (sponsored by Dwr Cymru): Coleg y Cymoedd, Inspire to Achieve (Torfaen CBC), Penyrheol Comprehensive School’s Design and Technology Department.

Marketing Campaign of the Year (sponsored by LOCALiQ): Brecon Carreg, Urdd Gobaith Cymru.

Best Policy and Practice within the Public Sector (sponsored by ECL): Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council, Newport City Council, Torfaen County Borough Council (Inspire to Achieve).

Outstanding Organisation Award (sponsored by Newport City Council): Rhug Estate, Sero Zero Waste, SustFashWales.

Best Product of the Year Award (sponsored by Niche): Barefoot Tech, Etoeto, NappiCycle.

Technology for Good Award (sponsored by Evolve): MHM Group, PlantSea.

Retailer of the Year (sponsored by Keep Wales Tidy): Onesta, Sero Zero Waste.