THE UK Government is to remove all seven countries remaining on the travel red list.

From 4am on Monday, November 1 travellers from Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela will no longer have to isolate for 10 days in a quarrantine hotel on entering the UK.

In a series of tweets the UK Government's transport secretary Grant Shapps said the category would remain in place “as a precautionary measure” in case countries needed to be added back in.

The Welsh Government says it is still concerned about the risks associated with international travel but, in line with previous decisions, has said it doesn't believe it can in practice take significantly different decisions.

Travellers intending to travel to Wales who have had to stay at quarantine hotels have had to do so in England and there have been no such facilities in Wales.


Health minister Eluned Morgan said: "These changes are not without risk – the UK’s Scientific Advisory Group on Emergencies (Sage) has advised the evolution of a vaccine escape variant is ‘almost certain’, and the risk of increased clinical severity is a ‘realistic possibility’.

“We are also concerned about the UK Government’s many decisions to change the border health measures, which are important protections to prevent the risk of new cases – and new variants of coronavirus – from entering the UK.

“However, it is difficult for Wales to adopt different arrangements to those required by the UK Government, as the majority of Welsh travellers enter the UK through ports and airports in England.

“Having different requirements would cause significant practical problems, confusion among the travelling public, logistical issues, enforcement at our borders and disadvantages for Welsh businesses.

“The pandemic is not over. It is for this reason that our advice continues to be to encourage people to only travel overseas for essential reasons.”

Mr Shapps had tweeted: "We can also confirm that from Monday, eligible travellers from over 30 new countries and territories including Peru & Uganda will be added to our inbound vax policy, bringing the total number of countries on this list to over 135.

“We will keep the red list category in place as a precautionary measure to protect public health and are prepared to add countries and territories back if needed, as the UK’s first line of defence.”

The Welsh Government has said it will add 35 countries to the list of countries whose vaccinations and certifications recognised for international travel.

Some technical changes to the passenger information requirements and private test provider obligations to notify Public Health Wales about test results will also be made.

Changes to the testing requirements for all fully-vaccinated travellers arriving in Wales,previously announced, will come into force from 4 am on Sunday 31 October.

All adults in Wales, who have completed their two-dose course of the Covid-19 vaccine and the majority of under 18s, who have travelled from countries which are not on the red list, will be able to take a lateral flow test, on or before day two of their arrival into the UK, instead of a PCR test.

If people have a positive lateral flow test on their return from travelling overseas, they will be required to isolate for 10 days and take a follow-up PCR test.

If you value The National's journalism, help grow our team of reporters by becoming a subscriber.